Rustic flatbread pizzettas (gluten-free & vegan)

More experimenting in the kitchen today. I have been craving pizza, but pizza is of course a no go so I made a version of my own. I used my basic chickpea flatbread recipe but this time spread it out in a thinner layer in a cookie sheet instead of a thicker layer in a cast iron pan. I seasoned with rosemary, oregano, and garlic and baked/broiled until it got nice and crunchy.

20140116-210922.jpg

Next I took some gorgeous grape tomatoes, tossed with extra virgin olive oil and sea salt and set those under the broiler until they got brown and bubbly.

20140116-210934.jpg
I didn’t have any basil in the house (and my plant outside is sadly dead in the cold winter days) but I did have some chimchurri that I had made last night. And I have been known to put chimichurri on my pizza so…instead of pesto, I had it with chimichurri and let me tell you, it was D-VINE. You could easily do any kind of pesto, or hummus, or tapenade with this and I know it would be equally fantastic.

20140116-210901.jpg

And Detox Day 3 remains in tact!

