Creamy & Light Chocolate Avocado Mousse

I wish there was a way to convey just how fluffy and decadent and fabulous this is! This texture is a gorgeous, airy whipped mousse. The taste is a rich, deep, dark chocolate. It purely tastes like chocolate mousse but I feel there is a hint of avocado at the very end. My husband didn’t get that though and had no idea there was avocado in it. And he thought for sure it had eggs.

This mousse is vegan, raw, non-processed, and uses unrefined local honey for sweetness. This is not a low calorie dessert and it is certainly high in fat – but these are good calories and good fats! It is an incredibly decadent dessert chock full of superfoods.

Avocados are a good source of fiber, potassium, and vitamins C,K, folate, and B6. Half an avocado has 160 calories, 15 grams of heart-healthy unsaturated fat, and only 2 grams saturated fat. One globe contains more than one-third daily value of vitamin C, and more than half the day’s requirements of vitamin K. (WebMD)

Coconut milk is high in iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, copper, selenium, zinc, folate and vitamin C. It also contains vitamin E, vitamin K, thiamin, vitamin B6, niacin, choline, pantothenic acid and calcium. (Livestrong.com)

Cacao and dark chocolate contain a large amount of antioxidants (flavinoids). It may keep high blood pressure down and reduce the blood’s ability to clot, thus the risk of stroke and hart attacks may be reduced. The darker chocolate with the most concentrated cocoa will be the most beneficial. According to an Italian study, a small square (20 g) of dark (bittersweet) chocolate every three days is the ideal dose for cardiovascular benefits. Cocoa beans are rich in a number of essential minerals, including magnesium, calcium, iron, zinc, copper, potassium and manganese. They also contain Vitamins A, B1, B2, B3, C, E and pantothenic acid.
(Cacaoweb.net)

So I posted a chocolate avocado pudding recipe the other day and it reminded me that I had wanted to try this. I had originally heard of avocado in a mousse from Side Saddle Kitchen. Laura Miller is a vegan chef that I adore! Her recipes are totally not gross πŸ˜‰ and I am totally not vegan and yet I keep finding myself obsessing over these amazing vegan, raw recipes.

So inspired by both, today was the day I decided to give it a try. And OMFG! Insanely amazing!!!

20140119-201957.jpg

This incredibly light, airy, creamy, decadent mousse is gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan, raw, & non-processed.

So I was inspired by these other geniuses, but as I’ve mentioned before I have the attention span of a toddler when it comes to following recipes so I always end up kinda doing my own thing. Here’s what I did:

20140308-215151.jpg

1 avocado
2 tbsp coconut milk (full fat)
1/4 cup almond milk
1 ounce 99% cacao dark chocolate
Local raw honey – no measurement here. Add to your desired sweetnesss.
Pinch of sea salt
Small splash of vanilla extract

Melt cacao in microwave for 1-2 minutes. Once melted, add in honey & sea salt. Stir until well blended. Then, blend up avocado (of course seeded and skinned), coconut milk, almond milk, vanilla, & cacao/honey mixture. It will already be light and ready to eat but you can pour in ramekin and let set (and get nice a cold) in the fridge. I sprinkled with a few cacao shavings. That is seriously it! This filled one medium-sized ramekin.

The proof is in the pudding! (ie, that chocolate-covered happy face!)
20140119-203317.jpg

