Jasmine Mango Tapioca Pudding (gf, df, v)

So I’m continuing with my experimentation of alternative ingredients for a gluten-free, dairy-free, non processed, low-sugar, lifestyle. And today is tapioca pudding day. I planned on doing a plain vanilla pudding but then I thought adding jasmine would be cool!

This creamy treat tastes like it’s got to be chock full of dairy milk or creme but it’s totally dairy-free. I used almond milk, coconut cream, a splash of vanilla, jasmine tea, local raw honey, a pinch of coconut sugar, and diced mango to make this treat.

20140121-115734.jpg

Tapioca is gluten-free, but it doesn’t deliver much else. It’s high GI, high calorie, and not nutrient dense. Unlike most of the recipes I try to make, you are not delivering powerful nutrients to your body on this one. I don’t foresee this being a common recipe in my arsenal but it is good so this really is for the occasional treat. Honestly, I’m still in awe of my chocolate mousse which was a gazillion times more decadent and yet does your body oh so good with it’s combo of superfoods.

20140121-115708.jpg

