Amaranth & Quinoa Apple Cake (gluten-free, dairy-free)

Today I wanted to experiment with amaranth flour. I’d never used it or tasted it before, but decided to give it a shot.

In my late teens, I was a nanny in New York City. The family I worked for had a housekeeper from Russia, Inessa, who made an incredible apple cake. It was so simple and yet soooo good. I remember something unique about it – Inessa put vinegar in it and it definitely added a tangy flavor that was amazing with the soft chunks of apple in the cake. It was so simple, so few ingredients, and yet sooo good! I don’t remember the recipe exactly but thought perhaps that rustic, flavorful cake might be something to work with the earthy amaranth flour.

20140123-213648.jpg

It came out quite tasty. Tastes like a cross between Inessa’s apple cake and buckwheat pancakes. Here’s my best guess at estimating what I did. I basically just looked around the kitchen and threw stuff in. Seriously winged this one!

3/4 cup amaranth flour
1/2 cup flour mix that I ground myself of quinoa, tapioca, and chia seeds.
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup water
1/2 cup coconut milk
1/8 cup apple cider vinegar
4 small Granny Smith apples diced
2 larger red apples diced
3 eggs
1 cup coconut sugar
1/8 cup honey
(Went pretty heavy on the sugars for this one because I was worried the flours would be way too earthy. But I think I could have gone lighter. I don’t like things too sweet and for me it was a bit too sweet though my daughter thought it was the perfect sweetness.)

20140123-213816.jpg

20140123-213924.jpg

20140123-214006.jpg

20140123-214046.jpg
Preheat oven to 350.
Coat a baking pan with EVOO.
Dice apples and layered in baking pan.
Beat eggs and coconut sugar until frothy.
Add vanilla and honey, water and coconut milk and acv. Mix a bit more.
Add all dry ingredients and fold in with a spoon.
Pour batter over the apples. Tap pan to eliminate air bubbles.
Bake at 350 for about an hour and 10 minutes.

20140123-214141.jpg
Cake is moist. Flavors are sweet, tangy and earthy all at once. Then there are bites that taste like apple pie.

20140123-214200.jpg
Note: Amaranth is very high GI and I felt the effects of that. Shortly after eating this cake, I began to feel quite sleepy – like when I eat wheat or simple carbs. Loved the cake but didn’t love this effect. Amaranth flour may not be for me. I’m curious to hear what others have to say about their experience with amaranth.

