Carrot Ginger Coconut Soup (gf,v, raw)

This is an easy no-cook soup I made using the heat setting on my Vitamix but while it’s capable of getting a soup piping hot, I only allowed it to warm as I wanted to maintain as much of the nutritional integrity as possible.

What you’ll need:
4 large carrots
A few pieces of broccoli & cauliflower (stalks & florets)
A small piece of ginger (about the size of the tip of your pinky – a little goes a long way!)
A ring of red onion
About 4 strips of cut bell pepper
1/4 cup of coconut milk
1/2 cup water

Because I’m eating super clean for a few days, I didn’t add salt though I certainly would have preferred to! I love salt way too much but I’m working on that. You may want to add a pinch though.

If you have a Vitamix, throw it all in and blend on the heat setting. If you want it piping hot, let it run until it stops. If you want to go more raw, then blend for about a minute or two. It will be warm and I’m pretty sure still technically considered raw because there’s no way it’s heated above 115 degrees Fahrenheit.

If you don’t have a Vitamix and want it hot, just blend it in your blender or food processor and then heat in a pot.

This was seriously good! And so good for you, it’s not even funny! I finished the whole bowl and it was very filling. The ginger really gives it that extra something special. Ginger is my new obsession and you’ll see me cooking with it more. Ginger is a powerful antioxidant and known for it’s high antimicrobial properties. It’s also an anti-inflammatory and good for circulation.

I used very little coconut milk in this because I wasn’t going for a super milky, creamy soup today but man, if that’s what you’re craving, I’d add about 1/2 cup of coconut cream and yowza that would be something special, too!

This recipe makes one large bowl as pictured here.

20140208-154929.jpg

