Burger on chickpea panini (gluten-free)

I love burgers. I mean, I LOVE burgers. I now limit red meat to once per week at the absolute most and frankly that just makes the burger taste even better.

20140212-200258.jpg

For a long time, having a burger meant doing it with a knife and fork (no bun) or maybe wrapped in lettuce. Back in the day that was because I was “low-carb” and now it’s because I’m no gluten and no processed foods. But a burger on bread is just damn good. So tonight I took my now go-to chickpea flatbread recipe to make the “bun” for my burger. I made sure to pour the batter extra thick and bake the bread extra crunchy because I wanted the bread to hold up to the weight of the burger and not fall apart when you pick it up. I also wanted it to add crunch to the soft burger. This delivered!

So I made some burgers, fried egg (in a little EVOO), all the veggie fixin’s and we enjoyed juicy handheld burgers on crunchy bread. All home made, whole food, organic, no additives, and organic grassfed beef. Fantastic!

And here’s the flatbread recipe:

2 cups of warm water
1 1/2 cups chickpea flour (I grind mine fresh as I need it)
1/4 cup olive oil
Season as desired (I like garlic powder, onion powder, salt and oregano).

Preheat oven to 500.

Grind up dried organic chickpeas in a high speed blender or buy chickpea flour.

Using a standing mixer or beater, mix together flour, water, oil & desired, seasonings until well blended.

Heat a dry cast iron skillet for about 10-15 minutes. Take it out carefully — it will be scalding hot. Grease with about a tablespoon if olive oil.

Pour batter in skillet. I like to sprinkle oregano on top for a nice herbed bread look. Bake at 500 for 25-30 minutes. When I do a thinner bread, I bake for about 15 minutes and finished off with broiling until brown. But this was a thicker bread and the 25 minute technique worked very well.

My cast iron skillet is a grill pan, giving my bread a panini look, but any cast iron skillet is fine.

20140211-223937.jpg

20140211-223946.jpg

20140211-223954.jpg

20140211-224006.jpg

20140211-224027.jpg

