Chocolate Almond Butter Cups (gluten-free, non-processed)

I love Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. Every Halloween I totally steal them out of my kid’s trick or treat bag. I still did that this past year, too even though I had already adopted my current eating lifestyle. But as I continue to learn how to adapt the treats I love into healthier, cleaner, chemical-free versions, I am thinking that those moments of weakness just might truly be behind me for good. I can’t believe I can have these amazing treats without having to give in and succumb to refined sugars, gluten, chemicals and other junk products. Learning this has truly been such an epiphany!

Not only is this a healthier version of the original packaged treat because of what’s not in it, but this candy is actually working for you because of what is in it. Food is medicine and every single ingredient in this provides a host of health benefits from cardiovascular health, to skin nourishment, to immune support, and more.

This recipe was adapted from Laura Miller and is unbelievably delicious. The rich, deep dark cacao combined with coconut oil makes this a more sophisticated version of a Reese’s. The almond butter is incredible; the same texture of PB but with a twist – and a great treat for those with peanut allergies. If you are making these for kids, they may not go for the dark semi-sweet chocolate flavor so you can add some almond or coconut milk for a milk chocolate version.

20140212-145605.jpg

Almond Butter Chocolate Cups (makes 9 large cups)

I used a pure cacao bar and melted down about two squares, adding about 3-4 tbsp coconut oil to build up quantity without sacrificing my whole pure cacao bar! Sweetened up with local raw honey and added a pinch of sea salt. For a vegan version, simply add your vegan sweetener of choice.

20140212-145928.jpg

Line a cupcake tin with liners and pour a bit of the melted ganache.

20140212-150115.jpg

Pick up each liner and roll the ganache around to have it coat the upper sides of the liners.

20140212-150124.jpg

Put them in the fridge for about 20 minutes or until firm. Take out and add about a tbsp of almond butter and spread onto each.

20140212-150245.jpg

Then top with more ganache, coating well.

20140212-150328.jpg

Back into the fridge for at least an hour until very firm and set up.

And enjoy!

20140212-150540.jpg

20140212-150622.jpg

20140212-150632.jpg

20140212-150643.jpg

