Lentil & chard salad

This was a fantastic cold lentil salad. Soft flavorful lentils combine with fresh crunchy leafy greens and carrots with a bright citrus dressing.

I made lentils the night before using some leftover sofrito I had put together for a roast I was making. A sofrito is basically a marinade type sauce and a base for many dishes throughout Latin America. Often there’s onion, tomatoes, garlic and peppers finely diced or blended – but it varies from region to region. So I had some gorgeous mini sweet peppers, onion, garlic, cilantro, added a little grapefruit and orange as well. Into the blender it all went with some salt and EVOO. Sautéed the lentils a bit in the sofrito before adding water and letting it all reduce to a nice stewy texture.

The lentils were good the night before but even better after a night of allowing all those flavors to mingle even more.

So for today’s salad, I chopped up the last of my gorgeous red chard, carrots, and cilantro. Rough chop. Wanted to keep it rustic. Plus, I had just gotten back from the gym and I was hungry! No time for a fine dice! Then tossed it all together in a generous amount of fresh squeezed lemon juice and olive oil. Plus a little salt and pepper. It was seriously amazing. I had a huge bowl and was reluctant to share the second bowl with the hubs –but I eventually did. 😉

20140217-190604.jpg

20140217-190610.jpg

