Chicken, cashew, vegetable stir-fry (soy-free, gluten-free)

Tonight I finally tried something I have been super excited about: coconut aminos. Swearing off gluten still provided me the option of a GF soy sauce but swearing off soy meant I was perhaps out of luck. But a few weeks ago in one of my ‘alternative eating lifestyle exploratory research binges’ (read: scouring WordPress, Pinterest, Google, Amazon), I came across “coconut aminos”. Reviews looked positive and a search revealed that a local market had it and so I was ready to try. Well, I had to go back to my market 3 times before finally nabbing a bottle. They order a small shipment and it was sold out every time I got there. This fateful weekend, I happened to nab the very last bottle. And tonight I made a stir-fry, that dare I say, while not as good as takeout, it was pretty damn good (& much healthier than takeout!).

This stir-fry contained the following:

Chicken
Cashews
Onion
Garlic
Peppers
Ginger
Mushrooms
Pineapple
Scallions
Broccoli
Zucchini

First I browned the chicken in a little olive oil and then removed it from the pan. Then added the cashews and browned them. Then added onions, garlic, peppers and ginger. Then chicken went back in and I added a good amount of the coconut aminos. About 1/4 cup. Along with maybe 1/8th cup water. Sautéed until chicken was cooked through. Then all remaining ingredients went in. Served over rice.

Yum! It really was good and as always I didn’t tell my family I was doing something different (though honestly, they know my m.o. by now!). Tasting the aminos right from the bottle, yes there was a difference. It wasn’t soy sauce. But in the dish, you just can’t tell! I highly recommend this for anyone looking to stay soy and gluten free! And frankly, based on what I’ve been reading lately, I think everyone should stay soy free and I’m becoming more and more convinced that many, if not most, should probably go gluten free too.

20140219-220744.jpg

Coconut aminos product info: Coconut Aminos Soy-Free Seasoning Sauce 100% Organic, Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free,Vegan Coconut Aminos is raw, very low glycemic, an abundant source of 17 amino acids, minerals, vitamin and has a nearly neutral pH. A comparison between coconut tree sap and soy, shows that coconut sap contains 2-14 times the amino acid content of soy. Small batches ensure that our organic, low glycemic Coconut Aminos, made from this natural sap, is a raw enzymatically alive product aged and blended with sun dried, mineral-rich sea salt, hand gathered from pristine waters near the southern islands of the Philippine coast. Ingredients: Organic Coconut Sap aged and blended with Sun-Dried, Mineral-Rich Sea Salt. Nutritional Facts:Serving Size 1 Tsp. (5ml), Servings per Container 48, Calories 5 Calories from Fat 0, Total Fat 0g (0% DV), Trans Fat 0g, Sodium 113mg (5% DV), Total Carbohydrate 1g (0% DV), Sugars 0g, Protein 0g, Vitamin A 0%, Vitamin C 0%, Calcium 0%, Iron 0%. Percent Daily Values (DV) are based on 2,000 calorie diet. Net wt: 8 fl oz

