Chicken, ginger, veggie guac chard wraps (gf, df, paleo)

I am embarking on a 10 day Paleo-esque detox that began today. I will get into more detail on why in another post but for now, I wanted to share what I came up with for lunch.

So the essential difference from how I was already eating (organic, gluten-free, dairy-free, nothing processed) is that for the next 10 days I can’t have legumes, grains of any kind (including my beloved quinoa and rice), nightshades (tomatoes, peppers, eggplant, potatoes, and a few others), nuts/seeds, and no high GI fruits (which I usually abstain from on my 30 day detox anyway).

So I can’t have my vegan raw protein powder that I use every day for breakfast. It’s primarly organic pea and hemp protein so for these 10 days, that’s out.

Can’t have my tomatoes or peppers which pretty much go into every salad I make.

Can’t have my go-to quinoa. Ugh!

What’s a girl to eat???!

For breakfast I made a smoothie as usual, just minus my vegan protein powder and no high GI fruits.

For lunch, I came up with this!

20140224-143223.jpgI quickly pan seared some chicken and made a guacamole with avocado, lime, zucchini, cucumbers, garlic, green onion, cilantro. Topped it off with a generous sprinkling of fresh ginger.

I didn’t feel like a plain old salad so I decided to take some of the huge rainbow chard I just bought and wrap them up like summer rolls. I think my wrapping skills need improvement but it tasted great!

2 meals down, 28 to go!

 

20140224-143234.jpg

20140224-143246.jpg

