Vietnamese inspired chicken chard wrap (gf, df, paleo)

Here’s a take 2 on the dish I made yesterday. I liked it so much I decided to do it again with more flair!

So I’m on day 2 of my 10 day paleo style detox. Without my go-to nuts, legume and grains, I’ve got to get creative!

So I was thinking part summer roll part bahn mi. Oh, have I never mentioned how much I love bahn mi?! Yowza. When I lived in New York, I went to grad school at night. Running straight from work to class with no time to spare meant no dinner so after class at about 9:30pm I’d often get bahn mi at little place around the corner. Yum!
Alas, no baguettes for me anymore. And no “pate” or whatever that spam-like substance was either. (I know that sounds gross but I’m telling you, you haven’t lived until you’ve eatten bahn mi – pork, pate, and lots of pickled veggies on a soft baguette. Served warm! Oh yes.)

So today when I was thinking about lunch, I decided to take yesterday’s lunch to the next level. I added some “pickled” cucumber and carrots (my version of a quick “pickling” means I did a quick julienne and soaked for a few hours in apple cider vinegar, water, and salt).

Then I added zucchini, sliced avocado, fresh ginger and fresh garlic paste (smash clove, sprinkle with sea salt, dice, and mash with side of your knife until it’s a paste). I wrapped it all up in the rainbow chard, squeezed on some fresh lime juice, and dipped in coconut aminos. Oh…my…yum! Seriously, this paleo thing is a breeze because that’s some good eatin’!

I find when I have to work around “can’t haves”, that’s when I do my best, creative cooking. And this would also make an amazing vegan dish without the chicken.

20140225-205855.jpg

