Girl Scout cookies, Boy Scout popcorn, and a sick population. A rant.

Today we got our order of Girl Scout Cookies.  Somoas and Thin Mints. Ahhhh. And I can’t have any.

Not. one. single. bite. Grrr..

I can’t have them not only because I’m on a 10 day detox, but even if I wasn’t I shouldn’t have any. Not a whole food, fully processed, gluten, corn syrup, hydrogenated oils, soy, carageenan (a carcinogen), the list goes on…  The Boy Scout’s popcorn is even worse and I can’t list those ingredients since the manufacturer’s website doesn’t list them at all. Hmmm…

If I wasn’t on detox, might I cheat with one of these little cookies? I might. I opened the box today, let Miss L have one somoa and I’m not gonna lie, I took a big strong whiff as a consolation. Judge me if you want! It smelled so good even though I know it’s so bad, and it’s taking every ounce of my self control not to dip into them!  So I’m definitely not immune. My brain knows it’s pure junk and yet my stomach seriously wants it!  (You may also be asking why my daughter can have one given my philosophies on health. I plan to write on this very complex topic soon!)

This leads me to a little rant. Why are Girl Scout and Boy Scout snacks so damn unhealthy? Every year we buy the huge bags of caramel corn to support our friends’ and neighbors’ kids.  Every year I buy it simply to support them and in the end, little by little, it gets eaten. If you look at the ingredient list, it’s pretty much the food equivalent of crack-cocaine. I mean that stuff is just poison. Same goes for Girl Scout cookies which I think are not quite as abhorent, but still pretty bad.  Products that are designed to support two organizations doing such great things for our children are encouraging and propogating the consumption of such toxic junk. High in calories, lacking in nutrients, and full of non-organic, gmo, highly processed toxins. This is not to single these organziations out, it’s simply a symptom of a larger issue; run down any supermarket snack aisle and every snack looks like this. No wonder we have an epidemic of diabetes, obesity and other diseases in our culture. And let’s not forget to mention those issues are increasing exponentially – even among very young children!

And I guess I started off this post with Girls Scouts and Boy Scouts because these are items we do end up having in our house two times per year. Because we want to support those organiziations, we buy it, and sometimes we end up eating it.  Again, this ingredient list is not new, it’s in just about every snack in the supermarket, but we don’t buy that crap. Ever. You could say the troups’ snacks have become a loophole.

But there is a silver lining here.  I do want to applaud the Girl Scouts because they have released a Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Shortbread. Now, if you’re a frequent reader of my blog, you know I’m still not a fan of the gluten-free product cop out. These are still processed foods and many do a worse number on blood sugar than the original version. However, looking over these ingredients, it’s not just gluten that is missing, it’s a load of other toxic junk like soy, carageenan (which is a carcinogen), corn syrup and hydrogenated oils. It still leaves a lot to be desired as far as I’m concerned, but that is a huge improvement! And certainly, I would feel way better about letting Miss L have one of these gluten-free shortbreads on occasion rather than the one somoa she just had.

Okay, rant over. And ended on a somewhat positive note. And I have to add that as I was writing this, Miss L finished the somoa, went off to her art table and then asked for an apple. Proud DetoxMama moment there, let me tell you! 🙂

