The Liebster Award!

leibster-awardI’ve got some really exciting news! Lyndsay from Officially Gluten Free has nominated my blog for the Liebster Award! I am so thrilled and honored! Thank you, Lyndsay!! Lyndsay has an awesome blog filled with incredible gluten free recipes and gorgeous photos of her dishes. Like me, Lindsay documents her journey in remaking recipes that meet her specific nutritional needs – and the passion and love she puts into it is clear. Go check out her blog!

The Liebster Award is intended for up and coming blogs with fewer than 500 followers. It helps new blogs get some visibility and also connect bloggers to each other. As part of the award process, I get to answer some fun questions and pay it forward to other awesome and deserving bloggers whose work I enjoy.

So here we go:

My questions & answers:

What is your favorite thing about Blogging? Blogging gives me an outlet to share, do, & revel in my passion. This way I don’t beat people in my day-to-day life over the head with my food philosophies and choices, which I never want to do. Food is very personal for people. Readers can choose to read if they like what I’m saying and cooking, or they can decide it’s not for them. Also, blogging about my experiences helps me stay on track!

What is one thing you never leave the house without? Chapstick (& my phone). I know – that’s 2 things. 😉

What was the last thing that you Googled? Some APA citation refresher tips for an editing project.

What is your favorite snack? Currently, carrots. These days it is very hard to find me without a big mama carrot hanging out of my mouth. And not those fake baby carrots! Did you know they are just regular carrots shaved down into stubs?!

Can you speak any other languages? I understand Spanish but will respond in English. I also took two years of intensive Latin in college as an English Lit major.

If you could eat one thing all the time without gaining weight, what would it be?  BREAD AND CHEESE. That’s two things again. But It’s not just about weight though. If I could have no adverse reactions and sensitivities to them, I would eat them 24/7! I so miss these incredible warm, bubbly brie breadsticks I used to make!

What is your least favorite food? Greasy food makes me feel sick.

What/Who is your all time favorite band or musician? COLDPLAY!!!!  I also love The Roots (pre-Jimmy Fallon). And Sade. I can never pick just one of anything clearly…

What other hobbies do you have aside from blogging? I used to make lotions, paper, candles, and pottery in my 20s but then I had less and less time to as life, work, and parenthood occupied that real estate. But my journey of redefinding what healthy means and what I am willing to eat has also now led to thinking about the products I put on my skin so I am just now starting to dabble in lotion making again – and I hope to make time for those other crafts as well.

I also love writing and editing of all kinds – academic writing, content writing, marketing communications, RFPs, ghostwriting, educational consulting, writing tutoring, misc writing for some consumer-based web sites, and beyond. It’s a hobby I’ve fortunately turned into real paying work that allowed me to kick the 9-5 and spend more time with the fabulous Miss L.

 

And here are the blogs I am nominating:

http://gluten-free-america.com/ – For up to the minute news and research on food, science, and policy. Things that I read here stick with me and influence choices I make.

http://gutwrenchingtruthaboutcrohns.wordpress.com/ – A touching, personal and honest story about living with Crohns by an incredibly resilient woman.

http://jcooksglutenfree.wordpress.com/ – Good friends making great gluten-free food!

http://www.theglutenfreetreadmill.com/ –  An incredible runner, nutrition advocate, and just ray of sunshine! How can such positivity and great energy shine through a blog?!

http://foodradical.wordpress.com/ – A very honest and real blog with beautiful, personal writing. Real food, real health, and real life.

http://sweetenoughthanks.wordpress.com/ – A gorgeous blog! Incredible healthy recipes with stunning photos.

 

Award Rules:

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you.

2. Answer the questions you were given.

3. Nominate other blogs with less than 500 followers.

4. Post questions for your selected nominees to answer.

5. Tag and link the nominees and post a comment to let them know you have nominated them and appreciate their hard work.

 

And here are my questions for you, fabulous Bloggers, should you choose to accept this mission award:

1) What is your spirit animal and why?

2) What is your happy place?

3) What is your favorite ethnic cuisine?

4) What was your favorite food as a kid?

5) What is your favorite food today?

6) What are you typically doing on a Wednesday at 11:30 AM?

7)) Why do you blog?

8) What do you do when not blogging?

9) What’s the biggest life lesson you’ve learned to date about nutrition/food/health?

10) What is the biggest life lesson you’ve learned to date about something other than nutrition/food/health?

