4 Layer Icebox Pie (Grain-Free, Vegan, Paleo, AIP, Whole, Dairy-free, Gluten-free)

I had left over chocolate frosting from the Easter cupcakes I made yesterday and didn’t know what I was going to do with it. This morning, I literally opened my eyes and thought “icebox pie!”. Dude, I don’t know if I was dreaming about this or what, but this is indicative of how my brain works these days. I am constantly thinking of how I can make, invent, recreate, or renovate recipes so that we can enjoy healthy, nutrient-dense, fullfilling food that tastes good, can be decadent, holiday-relevant and just allows us to enjoy life! We’re still
foodies, after all.

So this darling has four layers – a crunchy, sweet, nutty bottom layer. Next comes the rich chocolate frosting layer, then a sweet strawberry layer, and finally a creamy vanilla coconut cream top layer. Oh. my. Yum. And super easy. Just a little waiting time in between firming layers. As always, all organic, nothing refined or processed. No dairy, no gluten, no grains. Paleo, AIP and Whole30 friendly, and if you use maple syrup instead of honey, also vegan friendly.

This one is going to be a summer goodie! I’m already thinking of a red, white and blue version for the 4th!

So here we go:

4 Layer Icebox Pie

  • I don’t have a springform pan which I have been meaning to buy so I just used some parchment paper in a pyrex dish. The springform pan will definitely make for a more polished final product.
  • I ground up almonds and shredded coconut in my a Vitamix. Then mixed in local raw honey (use maple syrup for a vegan adaptation) by hand to make a sticky, pressable crumble. (I’m thinking hazelnuts would be to die for in this!!)
  • Pressed crumble into pan and into the freezer it went.
  • Took out leftover chocolate frosting. Added some coconut milk to thin it out a bit.
  • Poured chocolate mixture over firmed crumble layer and back into freezer.
  • Warmed then fork-mashed organic frozen strawberries. Added local raw honey (or maple syrup) to sweeten.
  • When chocolate layer is firm, added strawberry layer. Back into freezer.
  • Next, I blended up coconut cream with more honey or (maple syrup), plus a tsp of vanilla extract.
  • That layer goes on top of the frozen strawberry layer. Back into freezer.
  • Once it’s all firm and frozen and fabulous (a good few hours), remove, and slice with a knife dipped in hot water.
  • **For a very firm pie, serve right away. For a softer pie, take out of freezer and let it sit for 10 minutes or so.

Enjoy!

 

20140406-193150.jpg

Bottom Layer – Nut, coconut, & honey (or maple syrup) mixture

20140406-193158.jpg

2nd layer – Chocolate Frosting. Click pic to link to recipe.

20140406-193205.jpg

3rd layer – Sweetened mashed strawberries

20140406-193211.jpg

Top layer – Whipped vanilla coconut cream. Click pic to link to recipe.

20140407-095137.jpg

 

20140406-193229.jpg

20140406-193238.jpg

20140406-212752.jpg

 

