Lemon Curd (non-processed, refined-sugar free, dairy-free, paleo)

It’s the little things in life that make me happy and this is definitely one of those little things!! I love, love, love lemon curd!!!!

You may remember that before I began this alternative nutritional lifestyle, I was not a baker. Never made sweets, cakes, breads, etc. except for cake out of a box, apple pie using frozen crust, and a key lime pie also using a store-bought crust. And frankly, I didn’t get into baking until I started this blog! I’ve now been delighting in all of these different dessert experiments because hey, a girl’s gotta have sweets sometimes and anything out of a box ever again is just totally unacceptable. I never thought I could bake. It seemed too difficult and too precise which is not my stylo. (Yes, that’s styl-o. 90s teens, I know you feel me). And it’s not to say I haven’t had some kitchen failures but I have also had some major wins. I continue to be amazed at how easy it is to make so many yummy treats. My favorites tend to have not more than a handful of ingredients, I guess because the integrity of each component really shines through.

So I don’t have a great shot here because I made a tiny amount; it was a quickie experiment that I didn’t expect to take. And since I’m being honest, I also ate the tiny experiment before allowing it hours to thicken further (although I was quite happy with the level of thickness I got right away!). Okay, okay, I hate half of it right out of the double boiler and managed to wait an hour before eating the rest . šŸ˜‰

Okay, so keep in mind, this is not a proper serving amount. This made a small little bowl so the amounts below won’t get you much. I will absolutely be repeating with a larger quantity and I also have a yummy complete dessert recipe I’m currently formulating and will post as soon as I make it! here.

Renovated Lemon Curd

Juice of 4 lemons and 1/2 a grapefruit (just bc I didn’t want to use all of my lemons)

2 eggs

Honey and maple syrup to taste (I really didn’t measure here. Just tasted as I went. Sweetness is so subjective and I like a very tart curd.
The reason for the combo – I thought as opposed to maple syrup, honey wouldn’t alter the color of the curd with its lighter tone. The curd had a strong honey taste so I added a tiny bit of maple syrup to cancel that out).

Whisk all ingredients in a double boiler on low heat until thickened. Don’t stop or you’ll have scrambled eggs!

Once fully thickened, run through a strainer to get out egg and citrus bits. (I need a sieve. Some bits got through.)

Unlike what I did, you should let this cool for a few hours. Next time, I will give it about 5 hours in the fridge. šŸ™‚

20140409-091615.jpg

