Lemon Tartlets (dairy-free, gluten-free, refined sugar-free, grain-free, paleo, aip, whole30, organic)

Happy Fiesta Friday! Thanks for having me back, ladies. This party is definitely the place to be and I am ready to mingle. And I’ve brought treats with me!

I am super excited about this dish! Before I say anything else, remember, before I started my altered nutritional lifestyle, I was never one to bake so the fact that I have made lemon curd and a tart from scratch – let alone one that fits my nutritional parameters – is mindboggling to me! It’s these little things that make me happy – and it’s these little discoveries that further impress upon me that my nutritional lifestyle changes can easily be permanent.

20140411-085709.jpg

If you are new to my blog, let me note that all ingredients are always organic unless I state otherwise. Additionally, although I am very specifically creating and renovating recipes that are whole, clean, gluten and dairy-free, sometimes vegan, and lately, grain-free, paleo and AIP-friendly – it is my goal to make things that are also just plain yummy -for anybody! I have found that sticking to few, good quality ingredients seem to deliver awesome results, so even if you don’t have any special nutritional needs or are dieting, I encourage you to take a look anyway – eating clean, organic and non-processed doesn’t have to mean bird seed and lettuce!

The other day, I did a quickie experiment that I didn’t expect to work – a non-refined lemon curd. It did work and I was stoked! The curd had some fresh-squeezed grapefruit juice in it and this time I added a hint of orange and grapefruit as well. I also plan to try this with key limes and I know it will be fabulous. So this is a great citrus curd recipe – use any citrus fruit combination you like.

So when the lemon curd earlier this week worked, I knew a full-on dessert item was next! As soon as a spoonful of that custardy, sweet & sour dessert went into my mouth, I was thinking lemon tartlet! And I had just the base to use – a nutty, honey crumble I had devised for a yummy icebox pie I made last weekend.

20140411-085715.jpg
So here we go: yummy, lemony, grain-free, refined sugar-free, dairy-free Lemon Tartlets:

Makes 12 tartlets

For the citrus curd

  • 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice (or orange, or grapefruit, or key lime ,or a mixture). I have found that adding a little orange juice to my lemon curd allows me to use less honey/maple syrup to sweeten it.
  • 3 eggs or I think 6 egg yolks will also do the trick. I’m going try this method next time and this will be (UPDATE: I made these again using 6 egg yolks and do prefer it. And even better for AIP folks or anyone with an egg white sensitivity/allergy.)
  • Honey and maple syrup to taste (I used about a tablespoon of each but I like things very tart and not super sweet so use as much as you need. I have more notes on this here.)

Whisk all ingredients in a double boiler over low heat for about 7-10 minutes. Don’t stop whisking or you will have scramble eggs!  It will be a thick but still runny consistency at this point. It will get thicker once cooled. Run through a sieve and set aside.

For the nut tart crust (AIP-friendly if you have deduced that you can do nuts long-term. This wouldn’t be something for your super strict detox period). 

  • 2 cups almonds ( I also threw in some cashews on this one because I was low on almonds)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut (I like this brand)
  • About 1/4 cup honey (adding little by little until consistency is right)
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • mini muffin pan

Grind up the nuts and coconut in your blender, Vitamix, or food processor. For my icebox pie, I pulsed lightly and left this mix somewhat chunky, but for this tart crust, you want to pulse until it’s all combined and a somewhat fine texture.

In a bowl, mix in honey to the nut/coconut mixture, then coconut oil. The honey and coconut oil are simply to bind this together and make it moldable. It should hold together in your hand kind of like playdough, but not be too sticky or overly moist.

Put a little bit more coconut oil on your fingers and grease a mini muffin pan. (When you are done, don’t wash it off! Just rub into your hands and arms. It’s good stuff! Stop buying store-bought lotions full of synthetics! They are expensive, unnecessary, and potentially harmful. This is coming from a formerly devoted shopper of the Bloomies beauty counters, trust me!)

Then scoop in about a tbsp of the nut mixture into each mold of the mini cupcake tin. Using your fingers press the mixture in and make a cup shape in each. You shouldn’t be able to feel the tin pan through the mixture; there needs to be some thickness to it so that the tarts have body. Also, think about how much yummy curd you want in those tarts and make sure you are leaving enough space in carving out the “bowl” part of the tart. a href=”https://detoxmama.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/20140415-205106.jpg”>20140415-205106.jpg

Bake in a preheated 350° oven for about 8-10 minutes.They will be golden brown but still soft to the touch at this point. Let them cool a while for at least 15 minutes. I left them for an hour, but less time would probably do. They will be hard and firm when ready.

Gently slide a butter knife around the parameter and pop out. You will have perfect little nut cups ready for filling! At this point you can leave them in the muffin tin as I did, or put them on a plate.
20140415-205305.jpg

Spoon in curd filling and let tarts set overnight in the fridge. (Though I think at 5-6 hours, you might be set)

20140415-205450.jpg

If you left the tartlets in the tin, now you can easily pop them out since you head already loosened them before.

Top with anything (or nothing) like blueberries, raspberries, or lemon zest.

Enjoy!

20140411-085703.jpg

 

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @<

