Sautéed squid over greens

Something different for dinner tonight. I adore seafood but don’t buy it often because wild-caught (the only kind I will buy) is quite expensive! So if I see something at the seafood counter that is wild-caught and under $12/lb, sometimes I’ll go for it. Today that was squid.

These were already cleaned so no tutorial on that! I like to keep it simple. So these were bodies and tentacles. I sliced the bodies into rings and left the tentacles whole. Sautéed in olive oil, garlic and a little salt and pepper for a few minutes. Turned off the heat & added cilantro, scallions, and a generous squeeze of fresh lemon juice. Served over kale and spinach that I had sautéed with olive oil, garlic and salt. (I actually did the greens in a sauté pan, took them out, then did the squid in the same pan. I’m all about minimal dishes!)

Squid is a great source of protein, and also zinc, copper, selenium, niacin, & B12.

Simple, nutrient-dense, and delicious.

20140416-210635.jpg

