Grilled Mahi kabobs with cilantro basil pesto over arroz amarillo

Trader Joe’s frozen wildcaught mahi bits are an economical way to buy unfarmed seafood. I use the bits often in soup but they also grill up just fine.

Grilled mahi kabobs
First I marinate in some olive oil, lemon, and garlic. Season with salt, pepper, cumin and turmeric.

Soak kabob skewers in a water bath while fish is marinating. Maybe 20 minutes.

Skewer the fish up with desired veggies and grill!

Arroz amarillo
I used to use Sazon to make arroz amarillo. This is how I learned and it was the only way I knew. But now we stay clear of seasoning mixes that contain any added preservatives (like silicon dioxide, for example). So I use real saffron threads, turmeric, cumin, garlic, salt and pepper. Sometimes I might add some dried oregano.

Start with a base of diced onions and garlic. Sautee lightly in olive oil. Add the dry rice and sauté. Add seasonings and sauté a little more. Then add appropriate amount of water (per your rice package – it’s generally 1:1 for al dente rice. If you like your rice wetter (think paella rice), add an extra 1/2-3/4 cup of water). When the rice is done, I add in fresh or frozen peas and corn.

Cilantro Basil Pesto
This is a hybrid of basil pesto and a cilantro chimichurri style sauce I often make. Super easy.

Generous handfuls each of fresh basil and cilantro. Olive oil, salt, garlic, and some cashews or pine nuts. This is sort of Italian/Latin fusion sauce. We do a lot of fusion cooking in my house.

Happy Fiesta Friday & buen provecho!

20140418-150040.jpg

20140418-153822.jpg

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @<

>

