Nutty Grain-free bread muffins (paleo, gluten-free, AIP*, organic)

So I can take zero credit for this amazing recipe. It came from The Little Green Spoon
in a bagel recipe. I was seriously dreaming about that photo for a good week or so before I finally set out to make these bagels. So I followed this recipe pretty much to the letter, except for a few adjustments. As suggested when I asked, I used tapioca flour instead of arrowroot flour. Also, I don’t use agave. After a longtime fan for several years I’ve read some info that indicates it’s pretty much just like corn syrup – so highly processed, not natural nectar, it’s chemicalized food product. I used some local raw honey instead. I also ground my own organic almonds into flour so that’s probably why my muffins are much darker than the original recipe. Lastly, I didn’t use any seeds just because I didn’t have any. Below is The Little Green Spoon’s amazing recipe with my slight adjustments.

Recipe
Mix all of the following ingredients in a bowl and bake at 350 degrees for about 15-20 minutes.

2 cups of almond flour (I ground my flour from whole raw almonds and left a few nuts not as finely pulsed for texture)
2 tablespoons of coconut flour
1 tablespoon of tapioca flour
1 teaspoon of baking powder
Pinch of sea salt
4 eggs
1/4 cup of raw apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon of local raw honey or maple syrup

So I mixed it all up and then I realized I didn’t have a donut pan. I thought I would be rolling and shaping the dough a la the NYC H&H Bagels kitchen but duh, of course not because we are working around being gluten and grain free. This does not result in a dough but more of a thick batter. So I improvised and used a muffin tin and ended up making 24 of these little guys.

They are this sort of nutty, yeasty multi-grain bread kind of taste. I like it. A lot. Over the course of about 2 weeks, I had these with a fried egg, with almond butter, toasted, plain, a grab and go snack in the car, made Miss L a few sandwiches on this as well. And this morning with the last 2 muffins, I decided to make french toast.  Next up, I have a sweet muffin version I’m thinking about and I definitely want to make this into a nice bread loaf to slice up.

This is definitely a new go to recipe for me. I’m in awe of how bread-like it is. Well, it is bread! And it’s these kinds of recipes that confirm for me that making a tried and true recipe a new way isn’t necessarily doing it a weird way. It’s just another way. Up until recently I have thought of some of my substitutions as alternate odd ways to do something. But I’ve recently realized, hey, who says flour really means wheat. And who says bread really means grains. Why does sugar have to be white and refined? It doesn’t. I liken this epiphany to learning a new language. At first you think in your mother tongue and need to consciously translate that into the new language you have learned, but eventually, you find yourself thinking in that new language, dreaming in that new language – no translation needed. Well, learning to cook this way, and feeling how I now feel about cooking this way is just like that.

*AIP-friendly if you have already determined that nuts and eggs work for you.

20140506-203630.jpg

20140506-203636.jpg

Check out those nooks and crannies! Tell me that is not bread!

