Papaya smoothie (vegan, refined sugar-free, Paleo, AIP non-detox phase)

This is an oldie but a goodie. I would always get papaya smoothies in the little Latin restaurants we often ate at at home in NYC – Dominican, Ecuadorian, Colombian, Puerto Rican – everyone made a yummy creamy papaya smoothie with milk and sugar. And papayas played a huge part in our wedding & honeymoon as well. We were married in the Cook Islands where papaya, or pawpaw, is plentiful and it was what I made for breakfast the morning of our wedding. Yes, I made breakfast the morning of my wedding! Guess I was a budding DetoxMama then, too! πŸ™‚

I actually had a picture of the breakfast I made the morning of my wedding! :)

I actually had a picture of the breakfast I made the morning of my wedding! πŸ™‚ Rarotonga, Cook Islands 2007

So flash-forward to today, my version of my favorite papaya smoothie is of course dairy and refined sugar free. I used fresh papaya, almond milk, a little maple syrup and a touch of cinnamon. Yum! Where’s my wedding dress?

20140604-133540.jpg

