Yummy Grain-free, Dairy-free Chocolate Chip Cookies (paleo, refined sugar-free)

I know I still owe some of you the amaranth cookie recipe. It’s coming I promise. But as I mentioned, although the fam liked the amaranth cookies, it was a fail for me bc I apparently react to amaranth the same way I react to wheat – brain fog, lethargy, and just blahness. Yuck. No fair. This meant I needed another cookie STAT.

Enter another brain child I finally made. What’s the big deal? A grain-free chocolate chip cookie. Easy, right. Well, yes. Pretty easy. But I don’t like the packaged chocolate chips out there (even the vegan ones) so first I needed to make my own. So once I did that, yup- easy. And yummy. And will now be a go-to for sure.

Easy Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies (makes 18 medium sized cookies)

3/4 cup almond flour
3 tbsp coconut flour
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup coconut sugar
1 tsp vanilla
pinch salt
pinch cinnamon
Half cup crushed brazil nuts
Half cup chopped medjool dates
2 eggs
1 cup homemade chocolate chips

Mix it all in a bowl and put 9 tablespoon-fulls on 2 parchment sheet lined cookie trays. Bake for 7-12 minutes (less for softer cookies, more for crunchy) in a 350 degree oven.

Yeah. That’s it. Once again, this stuff doesn’t need to be hard. That’s one of the biggest things I’ve learned since I’ve adapted this lifestyle and I’ve actually tried to apply that lesson of simplicity to other areas of my life.
But as for the cookies, if it’s this easy, why buy the bag of cookies filled with junk? Seriously, there’s just no excuse.

And of course have fun with it. Add more or less extras as you choose. I don’t like things very sweet so if you need to add more sweetness, go for it. As for the nuts, I added Brazil nuts for the selenium (an important mineral, especially for thyroid function). I’m not a big fan of the Brazil nut taste. Turns out putting them in this cookie was the perfect way to use them! They added great crunch, a nutty flavor but the intense taste was toned down. I also added some dates to mimic some caramel chewiness.

Lastly, I ate a cookie (or two) pretty much right away and had some the next day after being in the fridge. Totally subjective I’m sure but I thought they were good right away but amazing the next day.

So be a kid again, my health conscious peoples. Have some cookies and milk. Grain-free, refined sugar-free, dairy-free, chocolate chip cookies. And wash it down with some almond or coconut milk. 🙂

20140629-171840-62320810.jpg

20140629-171838-62318103.jpg

20140629-171838-62318913.jpg

20140629-171839-62319834.jpg

