Coconut cranberry sauce (paleo, vegan, unrefined)

Thanksgiving is on the way and the cranberries are out. Yay! Organic cranberries are here! Nothing says fall to me like some tangy & sweet whole berry cranberry sauce. No cranberry sauce in a can here. And believe me, I grew up on the stuff. There it was every Thanksgiving – that gelatinous, sugary sweet, can of pseudo-cranberry sauce.. If you’re a longtime reader, you know I am a reformed processed food eater. If it was boxed, canned, shelf-stable and cheap, we ate it at my house when I was growing up.

Maybe you think you don’t have time for fresh cranberry sauce. Do you have 15 minutes? Because that’s all it takes. Seriously. Preparing healthy, whole meals does NOT have to be tedious and time consuming.

This recipe for my organic coconut cranberry sauce uses fresh, plump organic berries which are  highlghted by the beautiful floral sweetness of honey. No refined, processed GMO sugar here!

IMG_1452.JPG

Organic Coconut Cranberry Sauce
Organic cranberries – 2 8 oz bags
2 organic valencia oranges
1 cup of local raw honey (or more to desired sweetness)
1 cup plus a pinch more of shredded organic unsweetened coconut
Organic maple syrup (optional)
Walnuts (optional)

1. Zest 2 oranges and set zest aside.

2. Boil 2 cups water and the fresh squeezed juice of the 2 oranges. Once boiled add in honey and stir until dissolved.

3. Rinse cranberries and add to boiling water. (Optional: I like to had 3/4 of the cranberries and cook for about 8 minutes before adding the remaining 1/4. This is to have some whole berries in the final product. They are tart bursts of yumminess and look gorgeous.)

4. Cook for about 10 minutes or until it’s cooked down to a thicker consistency.

5. Add 1 cup shredded coconut.

6. Add in 3/4 of the Orange zest.

7. Cook for another 5 minutes.

8. You may choose to add more honey to your desired sweetness. I also sometimes will mix in a little maple syrup off the heat for some added sweetness.

9. Optional walnuts would go in now

10. Plate and either plan to serve warm or let it cool in the fridge. It will thicken further as it cools. When serving, I like to top it with the remaining zest and a pinch of coconut to visually highlight those ingredients.

IMG_1472.JPG

IMG_1474.JPG

IMG_1469.JPG
For an incredible vegan bite, try cranberry sauce & chimchirri on a tostone. Oh my yum!

And for you paleo folks, I made an amazing steak dinner splurge this went with.

And after a long hiatus, I’m back to party at Fiest Friday!

20140909-063436-23676750.jpg

