Almond Brittle with Pink Himalayan Sea Salt (Paleo, Vegan, AIP, Organic)

Well, we are snowed in! We should be on the road right now and yet here we are, the white snow falling furiously; giant, wet flakes quiclky covering the surrounds. It’s beautiful, of course. It’s an early winter wonderland. But not the best timing as I’m sure families across the northeast and midatlantic might agree.

The car is packed, we are ready to go, but now we wait until this breaks. What’s a girl to do?! Cook! I’ve got my pumpkin pie ready to go. And now to make a few different variations on brittle!

DetoxMama

So the last couple weeks of summer has marked some kitchen experimentation. Some recipes have worked and some haven’t. I’m overdue for writing those up…

This time I was inspired by an upcoming fall camping trip. There’s a lot of traditional food I won’t be able to indulge in (sigh, s’mores) so I wanted to make something that I could enjoy, and better yet, that everyone else would too. Not diet food. Not special food. Not, “there goes DetoxMama and her crazy eating” food. Just a good whole-foods unprocessed organic treat. And not only did this work, it’s as easy as it gets.

I had a simple vision: maple syrup, almonds, a little coconut oil, and pink Himalayan sea salt are effortlessly combined to form fabulous, 100% organic, vegan & paleo goodness. I used a candy thermometer to measure to 300 F and that’s as technical as it gets. The…

View original post 98 more words

